What Can You Do Today?

As I write this, I’m tired, sore and covered in dust and dirt. I spent the day at a Habitat for Humanity site with some friends and co-workers. We were all given the opportunity to help someone realize the dream of owning their own home. Today has been the most tiring, yet most rewarding day I’ve had in months.

Image

I believe in serving others and it’s one of the greatest pleasures I have in life. In James chapter 2 we read:

14 What good is it, dear brothers and sisters, if you say you have faith but don’t show it by your actions? Can that kind of faith save anyone? 15 Suppose you see a brother or sister who has no food or clothing, 16 and you say, “Good-bye and have a good day; stay warm and eat well”—but then you don’t give that person any food or clothing. What good does that do?

17 So you see, faith by itself isn’t enough. Unless it produces good deeds, it is dead and useless.

18 Now someone may argue, “Some people have faith; others have good deeds.” But I say, “How can you show me your faith if you don’t have good deeds? I will show you my faith by my good deeds.”

How can you serve someone today? You don’t have to help them build a house. Simple, small gestures can often be monumental to the recipient. A cup of coffee and a few minutes to listen to a friend may be just what they need. Sending a few snacks and a card to a college student will brighten their day. Serving food, folding clothes or planting flowers at a local shelter is fantastic! Find something you love to do, and do it for someone else. Then step back and determine who benefited from your act of kindness more. Many times, the answer is you.

Leave a Reply

